Swim England National Plan

Contact us:

E-mail: christine@startingblocks.org.uk

We currently run the Swim England National Plan for Teaching Swimming (NPTS) which is constantly being revised.


We have introduced it alongside a distance in swimming scheme to enable swimmers to continue to improve and to allow a wider range of incentives especially at the lower levels.


The current scheme is heavily loaded on learning buoyancy skills, streamlining, and ALL FOUR of the competitive strokes from the beginning which means that it may take a little longer to achieve some of the new awards The first four Stages concentrate on buoyancy skills and body position skills. An effective leg kick is expected on all four strokes at stage 4 and should comply with current swimming rules (laws). It is really important to gain these skills as second nature before they learn the full strokes. Stages 5 - 7 would be the top end of learning to swim and should be a good grounding for entry to a local swimming club, so swimmers should know the basic rules of the sport too. Stages 8,9 & 10 should reflect the skills of a competitive swimmer and would benefit from swimming more that just one half hour session a week.


If you want to read more about the scheme please visit





Block Stage 1—Ducklings             Orange

Block Stage 2—Ducks                    Yellow

Block Stage 3—Pool Frogs            Green

Block Stage 4—Sea Horses          Pink/Indigo

Block Stage 5—StingRays             Blue

Block Stage 6—Sharks                   Red

Block Stage 7—Dolphins               Violet